About the Awards
The Carol Weisman & Gary Chase Gender-Based Research Awards were first given in 2012 to recognize excellence in gender-based research presented each year as part of the Gender and Health Interest Group Meeting. As early members of the Interest Group as well as strong advocates for gender-based research approaches, the invaluable contributions of Drs. Weisman and Chase to the Gender and Health Interest Group at AcademyHealth have been both instrumental and inspiring to our continued success. These awards were created to honor their legacy.

Learn more about Drs. Weisman and Chase here.

Award Process
Awardees are selected from among the abstracts submitted to the Gender-Based Research Interest Group as part of AcademyHealth’s Annual Research Meeting. Each abstract is independently reviewed by at least two members of the Abstract Review Committee and scored based on the quality of the research, its relevance to gender-based research, the clarity and completeness of the abstract and its contribution to gender-based health services research or health policy.  

Award Recipients 


Jill Darling, M.S.H.S.
VHA Greater Los Angeles HealthcareSystem

Jillian Shipherd, Ph.D.
VHA LGBT Program


Stacey McMorrow, Ph.D. 
The Urban Institute  

Ginny Ryan, M.D. 
University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine, Iowa City VA Healthcare System


Gilbert Gonzales, M.H.A.
University of Minnesota 

Elizabeth Patton, M.D., M.Phil.
University of Michigan 


Andrea Finlay, Ph.D. 
Department of Veterans Affairs

Joanne Pavao, M.P.H.
VHA Mental Health Services

Julia Przedworksi
University of Minnesota


Michelle Mengeling, Ph.D.
Iowa City VA Health Care System

Kristina M. Cordasco, M.D.,M.P.H., M.S.H.S.
VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System and The University of California, Los Angeles

Andrea Gruneir, Ph.D.
Women’s College Research Institute

Chloe Bird, Ph.D.
RAND Corporation