Alyce S. Adams is a Research Scientist III at the Kaiser Permanente Division of Research (KPDOR) where she investigates health system and policy level strategies for optimizing treatment and promoting equitable health care outcomes among older adults with chronic disease. As Associate Director, Health Care Delivery and Policy, at KPDOR she develops infrastructure programs to promote career development and scientific growth among scientists at all career stages.   

A longtime member of AcademyHealth (AHSR), Dr. Adams is highly committed to the growth and success of the Academy and its members. Currently, she serves on the AcademyHealth/ National Cancer Institute (NCI) Delivery Science Fellowship Program Advisory Board. In addition, she was an invited plenary session speaker at the 2018 Dissemination and Implementation (D&I) Science research meeting sponsored by AcademyHealth and NCI. She has also chaired sessions at the AcademyHealth and the D&I annual research meetings. Further, she is currently collaborating on an AcademyHealth directed, PCORI funded, multidisciplinary collaborative consensus project to examine shared decision making in the era of patient generated digital health data. 

Dr. Adams’ research portfolio has two primary areas of focus: 1) understanding in the impact of changes in medication coverage policy on access to and use of clinically effective health care services among vulnerable patient populations and 2) understanding and addressing disparities in treatment outcomes among patients with chronic conditions. In the policy arena, Dr. Adams explored medication non-adherence as a modifiable determinant of disparities in chronic disease control and the impact of changes in coverage policy on access to clinically essential therapies. Over time, her research has expanded to include pragmatic interventions to address modifiable determinants of disparities in chronic disease treatment outcomes, as well as the use of novel machine learning and other statistical methods for leveraging big data to improve care delivery and reduce healthcare disparities. 

She has served as Principal Investigator or Project Director of grants from the NIH, PCORI and foundations. Currently, she is Co-Principal Investigator of The Health Care Systems Research Network (HCSRN)-Older Americans Independence Centers (OAICs) AGING (Advancing Geriatrics Infrastructure and Network Growth) Initiative, which aims to expand an existing network of highly productive, collaborative, transdisciplinary scientists from 18 HCSRN research centers embedded within healthcare delivery systems and the NIA Pepper Centers. She has served on several expert panels for national organizations and agencies related to her work in healthcare disparities. In addition, she has served as a standing member of NIH study sections since 2011. 

Dr. Adams has a long-standing commitment to advising and mentoring junior scientists. While on faculty at Harvard University, she served on the Admissions Committee for the Health Policy PhD Program and on the Faculty Advisory Board for the Harvard Native American Program. She was also Co-Director of the Fellowship in Pharmaceutical Policy Research at Harvard Medical School. She has received awards from Harvard Medical School and the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (AHRQ) for mentoring.  In addition to teaching at local universities, she serves as a scientific mentor to pre- and post-doctoral trainees and fellows (e.g., AcademyHealth Diversity Scholars, NIDDK T32 Program in Diabetes Translational Research, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Health Policy Research Scholars Program). 

Dr. Adams received her Ph.D. in Health Policy from Harvard University and a Master of Public Policy from the Kennedy School of Government. She received a research training grant and a post-doctoral fellowship from AHRQ. She completed her fellowship training at the Department of Population Medicine (Department of Ambulatory Care and Prevention) at Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Institute and Harvard Medical School, where she received the Thomas O. Pyle Fellowship Award.